The Board of Directors is once again taking nominations for the Volunteer of the Year Award in honour of Pentti Tyynela. Pentti was a long time member of Soo Curlers who demonstrated commitment in bringing success, notoriety and a positive impact to our curling centre!

This award will honor a person who through the curling season, exemplifies the spirit of volunteering by demonstrating similar values of commitment, leadership, initiative, the ability to collaborate and work as part of a team …. for the benefit of curling and our association!

Nominations will be accepted until April 30; nominations can be made by email to or by written submission addressed to the Board of Directors, outlining the reasons for your nomination of a worthy member! Nominations can be submitted using the following form: Nomination form.

The winner will be announced and recognized at the next Annual Meeting.